top of page
Search

The Problem With Perspective

Each day, we find ourselves disappointed with something. Whether it's that darn alarm ringing too early or people disappointing you throughout the day, there's always something that makes you feel as if you need to escape. We all dream of endless vacations, worry-free lifestyles, and a bottomless bank account, and when things go in the complete opposite direction, we feel let down and drained. Life is exhausting. People are always demanding more and more of you when all you want to do is: BREATHE.


In my case, three little people are always demanding my attention. From the moment I am woken up by the sounds of my 4 year old putting hand soap in the toilet to make bubbles to the moment I crash on the floor next to my 2 year old that just wanted me to hold his hand while he fell asleep, every single moment of the day, I am on call. And it is absolutely draining. I am a simple person. I want a simple meal with a cup of coffee (or a glass of wine depending on the time), a good book, fluffy socks, and some bacon cheese fries...or a brownie...or a cookie...soul food :) So when my attention is demanded so much and "me" time becomes a distant dream, I find myself sighing a lot and getting grumpier as the day passes. I question what has become of my potential and how I could possibly be a good mom feeling like Oscar from Sesame Street.


And then, as if by some divine intervention, a thought strikes my mind: "You're right...you're being a grouch. And if I was a kid, I wouldn't like you very much either." I remember that I am mom. I have three beautiful blessings that have hearts of gold. Beautiful blessings that feel so much joy from the simple act of flushing bubbles down a toilet. Beautiful blessings that feel complete validation from a high five for eating all their food. Beautiful blessings that want nothing more than kisses at night and to hold mommy's hand to sleep while listening to her lullabies. How simple and beautiful the world is through the eyes of a child. They're so easy to please and so pure in their intentions. If all the world had the heart of a child, what a wonderful place it would be.



Therein lies the problem with perspective. When we spend too much time seeing the world from one point of view, we begin to immerse ourselves in that perspective and it is reflected in our attitudes and in our ability to excel. You either quit or push harder than you ever have. Far too often we are taken over by disappointment

and we immerse ourselves in a negative perspective. I choose to live life differently. I choose to see life through the lenses of a child. I choose gratitude. Because I know, deep in my heart, that my life would be incomplete without those bubbles or holding those hands. Because it is those moments that purify my soul and help me feel truly happy and truly grateful for the early mornings and late nights. I choose to see beauty. What will you choose?

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page