top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisette Diaz

Eucalyptus Bathroom Renovation




I am a weird kind of person. I often feel stifled by environments that don't inspire me. I can't thrive in a place that doesn't bring me peace or joy. This means that my home is usually pretty bright and has a lot of light colors. At the moment, our living arrangements do not allow for me to alter the space where I am, so it is hard to find that light and bright space I yearn. Organization and earthy pieces also bring me to that inspired state of mind. The one place that had not yet been touched in the home is the bathroom my husband and I use. So I gathered the guts to ask permission to update the space, and I can't wait to show you the results!


Here is a rough picture of what the bathroom looked like before. (Yes, it was laundry day. No, that laundry is not there anymore.)


It was white, uninteresting, and just plain blah. I needed a place where I could retreat and feel at peace, especially at the end of a day full of running after my three beautiful and extremely energetic children.


And so the project began.


My vision was to keep the renovations simple and low budget. I was going to keep the rugs and match the blue color in the laminate's design (so there is no need to change the floor).


I had to resist the urge to add new light fixtures or a new sink/cabinet combo. But, here we go!



At first I thought a sage green would work, and I chose Sage Brush from Behr, but I wanted to include some greenery in the bathroom and the amount of green in there was just too overwhelming. I went to Home Depot and they added some blue to my sage to try and get to Frosted Jade as best as we could. It ended up being too dark, so I went home and mixed 1 part blue paint and 1 part white. The resulting color was the one you see at the bottom right of this paint swatch. Not quite light enough (which bothers me still) but good enough for me.



I had to give the walls 2 coats to get complete coverage and in the end it was so worth it. Below I will include all the items I used and links to where they can be found.



The wall art with Bible phrases was found at my local Dollar Tree. You can buy a box of 22 assorted wall art canvases online, but you won't be sure of what you get.


The basket and artificial plant were found on amazon. Here are the links for the basket and artificial plants. The plants come in a set of 4 so you will find a few (at least 2) in this bathroom. The rest are sitting pretty in my office.



These floating shelves definitely helped add space for my husband and I to separate our belongings instead of having them constantly scattered on the counter. They are very sturdy and look beautiful. I do, however, worry that they are too porous to be near too much humidity. They still work quite well.


The plant in this image was part of the inspiration for the bathroom and it was found at Ross, so I don't really have a link to that one.



I love these prints for their simplicity and how they blend all the colors together. I made these myself using Canva. The middle print contains a Bible verse that was already in this bathroom on a scrap of paper. So I prettied it up and decorated with eucalyptus graphics.


The frames for these were found on Amazon and come with 7 in a pack. I have wondrous plans for the other 4 frames.


The towels (along with the hand towel in a previous image) are from Better Homes & Gardens, and were found at my local Walmart Superstore. The official name of the towels is "Think and Plush Sheared Paisley Bath Towel" and a similar one (though not the same color) can be found here.



This shower curtain was such a wonderful focal point in this bathroom. I love how the white balances the blue on the walls and the eucalyptus print has a blend of green and blue, which helps to bring all the colors together. I used a white liner behind it and it made that white much brighter.


The rack holding my shampoo and other toiletries was found at Ross as well.


All in all, I am so proud of how this bathroom turned out. This project helped bring out my muse and gave me so much motivation to push through so many changes currently happening. And now I have 5 more projects to do! I can't wait to share them with you!





What projects have you undertaken lately that have boosted your spirits?




71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page